How To.. Conquer Writers Block

1 Jul

Writers block is the plague of every writers life. It often strikes at the most awkward of times, and conquering it can be tricky. So, here are my top tips on fighting off writers block.

1) Just write.
Yes, it’s a cliche but it works. Write about why you’re struggling to write. Write about what you had for lunch. Anything to get the juices flowing.

2) Set some goals.
Determine some deadlines and decide what you want to have written by when. Working against the clock can really encourage you to get writing.

3) Immerse yourself in inspiration.
Go do something different for an hour. Take a walk, get the heart pumping and the blood flowing. Watch your favourite film, read a chapter of a book that inspires you.

4) Research.
Do some research on whatever you’re writing about. You may find inspiration or you may find a point of view that you don’t agree with, and this in itself can inspire you to write.

5) Change your surroundings.
Normally write at home? Try the hustle and bustle of a coffee shop. Normally write in a busy environment? Try the library. Find another place to work. A change may be just what you need to be inspired.

So, those are my top tips on conquering writers block. What are your suggestions?

Lots of love..
Kat xo.

4 Responses to “How To.. Conquer Writers Block”

  1. bonnietiger July 6, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    I like your list and agree with them all. I only started my blog a few days ago and I thought I would have loads to write about, but nearly everyday I just haven’t known where to begin. Can you have blog writing nerves? Anyway I have mostly just been doing what you have suggested here and just started writing. I have also tried writing drafts at my desk, the office is busy but I do at lot of writing for work there so I was able to concentrate easier.

  2. Kat Harrison July 6, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    I’m glad you liked the list! One tip I would give you, is if you’re struggling to feel inspired, always keep a list handy so that you can write down any titles or rough ideas you have! This way you have something to look at when writers block strikes! Hope your writers block clears up soon!

    • bonnietiger July 6, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

      Strange I started a list just a little while after leaving my last comment! I write a lot at work (in Marketing) but its different, I write something and then think ‘why would anyone care?’ I’m I will get into the swing of things soon. I’m going to post everything, id rather write too much than nothing at all. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I intend to do to make sure Bonnie Tiger keeps saying… « Bonnie Tiger says… - July 6, 2010

    […] Tiger keeps saying… blogs, lists, writing I read a lovely blog post today entitled ‘How to Conquer Writers Block’ (Thanks Kat!) and although I am managing to find subjects to write about so far (its very early […]

Leave a Reply

