Creating The Perfect Routine

19 Jul

Routine is such a big part of our daily lives. It can affect our lives a great deal and establishing a wonderful daily routine can really enhance our lives.

So, how do you go about crafting the perfect daily routine?

Firstly, you must figure out what works for you.
Are you more productive in the mornings or afternoons? Do you have daily commitments to work around? Make a list of what you do day to day and how you can shake up your routine to work for you.
For example, I know I’m more productive and alert and inspired in the mornings, so I use this time to write and get work done. In the afternoons, however, I’m a little less alert and inspired, so I use this time to do more mundane tasks such as responding to e-mails, carrying out chores etc.

Secondly, create some goals.
Knowing what you want to achieve and by when can really clear your mind, and only then can you take steps to implementing these things.
For example, want to be an established author? Think about the steps you can take each day to accomplish this goal. It might mean researching your novel or setting yourself a quota of words to achieve each day.

Thirdly, figure out what you want your routine to be like.
Now you’ve figured out what works for you and created some goals, take some time to think about what you want your routine to be like.
For example, my routine consists of:
+ Awake – 7am + Have breakfast & make myself look presentable + Work; 8am – 12pm (writing, working on my novel, other publication posts) + Lunch + Work; 1pm – 4pm (respond to e-mails & comments, work for my internship, work on my upcoming e-book, household chores) + Evening spent reading and cooking + Bed; 9pm.

So.. how’s your routine looking? What would you like to change? What steps do you need to take to make the necessary changes? Take some time and think about it!

Lots of love..
Kat xo.

4 Responses to “Creating The Perfect Routine”

  1. Luinae July 19, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    Great post! I have a ton of stuff to get done, so I should probably work on making a slight schedule.

  2. Kat Harrison July 20, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    thank you! i think a schedule can really help keep you on track and get things done!

  3. Luana July 20, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    Knowing when you’re at your best is so incredibly helpful! (I wrote a post about it not long ago here) I also work best when I write everything down, just so it isn’t floating in my busy head. Right now I’m trying to enjoy a lazy summer while I juggle a part time job so I’m trying to stay away from any strict routines, for now!

  4. Kat Harrison July 26, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    Great tips! Knowing when you’re at your best is definately helpful, and so is writing things down!

Leave a Reply

